CRSHA Confirm Three As Commissioners, Assemblyman Frowns

The Cross River State House of Assembly today confirmed the nomination of Asuquo Ekpenyong Jnr, Peter Egba, Tanko Ashang, the three nominees, submitted to the House by state governor, Ben Ayade, to serve as Commissioners in the yet to be constituted CRS Executive Council.

While Speaker of House, E. J. Williams urged the new commissioners to work closely with their House of Assembly members and the state government to help move the state forward, a mild drama played out when a House Member, Elvert Ayanbem, representing Ikom II State Constituency, frowned at the submission of only three names by the governor.

Ayambem told when contacted that “while we have 18 local government areas in the state, I am convinced that our constituents will be eager to know why only three nominees have been sent to us. I must say that these three shouldn’t begin to consider themselves as superior or are we about to have senior and junior commissioners in our state? Haste must be made to make this appointment reflective of the 18 LGAs on the ground.”

Ekpenyong is the immediate past Finance Commissioner and looks likely to continue in that office, just like Egba who just left the Commerce and Industry ministry. Ashang had served briefly in the Liyel Imoke administration as Works commissioner.

© 2019, Admin. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.